« November 2007 | Main | January 2008 »

Don't Mess With Donald Trump...Or His Domain Name

Sandra Long Consulting ("SLC"), based in Baltimore, Maryland, found out the hard way not to mess with "The Donald" Trump. SLC registered the domain name "trumplogos.com", resolving it to a website providing search results and links to real estate, travel, investment and other websites, some of which were associated with Trump and some of which were direct competitors with Trump.

Not one to rest on his laurels, Trump successfully got ownership of the domain transferred to him in a WIPO proceeding against SLC.  The sole panelist ordering the transfer had no issue in holding Trump's clear rights in the TRUMP mark and reaffirmed the well-established principle that the inclusion of a generic term -- here, the generic term "logos" -- does not defeat the similarity created by use of a Complainant's mark.  In determining SLC's bad faith intent in its registration and use of the mark, the panelist found persuasive the fame and reputation of the TRUMP mark, as well as the domain's resolve to commercial sites whereby SLC clearly appeared to be trading on Trump's fame and goodwill to attract Internet users to SLC's site. 

Donald J. Trump v. Sandra Long Consulting, WIPO Case No. D2007-1226

Saturday Night Live Alum Kevin Nealon Fights Lapse of Eponymous Domain Name

Kevin Nealon, of Saturday Night Live fame, wasn't laughing when his domain name "kevinnealon.com" lapsed when he failed to receive renewal notices from his registrar for the period 2006-2007.  Prior to the domain's lapse, Nealon's website contained information relating to his services and accolades.  Seizing the opportunity, an unrelated third party registered the lapsed domain soon thereafter in February 2007 and the website became a portal of commercial links. 

Nealon filed a complaint with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center and successfully obtained transfer of the domain name.  In ordering the transfer, the sole panelist, among other things, agreed with Nealon that the registrant of a domain name based on another's notoriety is evidence of opportunistic bad faith, which was further accentuated by the timing of the registration of the domain immediately after Nealon's registration lapsed. 

Lesson learned? Don't rely on your registrar as your sole means for notice of renewal if you value and want to maintain your domain. 

Kevin Nealon v. WhoIs Protection, WIPO Case No. D2007-1225

A Hair Raising Issue...

Farouk Systems, Inc. manufactures and sells professional hair care products in over 60 countries worldwide and has been using the CHI mark on its hair products since 2000, owning several trademarks for the word "CHI" for use of hair care products.  On June 16, 2005, the Respondent registered the domain name "originalchi.com", which resolved to a website that prominently branded "CHI flat iron" and offered for sale what were claimed to be Farouk's "Chi" hair care products, asserting that the products were covered by a warranty from Farouk and advising users to contact Farouk in relation to warranty claims and product returns.  Respondent's website also included details, reviews and tips and advice related to Farouk's products, the ability to purchase unauthorized versions of Farouk's products and/or counterfeit reproductions of Farouk's products. 

When Farouk successfully sought transfer of the domain in a WIPO proceeding, the panel noted that the addition of the generic and laudatory term "original" to Farouk's registered trademark for "CHI" was insufficient to differentiate the domain name and trademark and, rather, enhanced the connection, rendering it confusingly similar to Farouk's CHI trademark.  In addition, it was held that the domain was registered and used in bad faith where the website at the disputed domain name was used to either resell the Complainant's products or to sell counterfeit versions.  In so holding, it was noted that the majority view of WIPO panelists holds that a reseller can be making a bona fide offering of goods and services and thus have a legitimate interest in the domain name if the use fits certain requirements.  These requirements include the actual offering of goods and services at issue, the use of the site to sell only the trademarked goods and the site accurately disclosing the registrant's relationship with the trademark owner.  The respondent must also not try to corner the market in domain names that reflect the mark.  By application of the foregoing, it was held that the Respondent at bar did not accurately disclose its relationship with the trademark owner and, on the contrary, the use of "original" with "chi" in the disputed domain name suggests that the Respondent has some sort of connection with Farouk, which it does not.  It was held that the Respondent's site itself enhances the likelihood of confusion by, amongst other things, prominent use of Farouk's mark on the homepage and false claims that the Respondent's products are covered by warranties from Farouk. It was further noted that, if the Respondent's products are indeed counterfeits, then the case against it was even stronger. 

Farouk Systems, Inc. v. Originalchi.com, WIPO Case No. D2007-1201.

YouTube Domain Fight

YouTube, a subsidiary of Google, is a leader in online video sharing and other online services, owning numerous trademark and service mark registrations with the designation "YouTube" in several countries, including Switzerland.  Between January and May 2007, Mathias Moench registered 7 domain names using variations of "YouTube", including www.youtube.ch, which offered a file sharing service identical to that of YouTube.  The other six domains lead to web portals with several hyperlinks providing access to various web contents and internet services related or similar to YouTube's internet services or other services.  When YouTube successfully brought a WIPO proceeding seeking transfer of the disputed domain names, it was held that Moench was trying to unfairly exploit the recognition and reputation of YouTube's mark, in a classic case of cyber- and typosquatting. 

YouTube, LLC . Matthias Moench, WIPO Case No. DCH2007-0010.